As a composer Max Murray has collaborated with musicians and ensembles including Noa Frenkel [Den Haag], Annie Gårlid+Matthew Conley+Nathan Plante [Berlin], Kevin McFarland [Colorado], RAGE THORMBONES [New York/L.A.], Liam Hockley [Vancouver], and Madison Greenstone [San Diego], among others, with works appearing in contexts such as the Gare du Nord «Dialog» [Basel], Klangwerkstatt [Berlin], and HaTeiva [Tel-Aviv]. 

Current projects include an evening-length music theatre piece for performers Samuel Stoll [Berlin], Noëlle-Anne Darbellay [Bern], and Richard Craig [Bangor], and a solo work for Christopher Otto [New York].

Since 2016 he has been conductor of Harvard University's Graduate School of Arts and Sciences' symphony orchestra, and currently directs a Bach cantata series in collaboration with the Harvard Art Museums:





    • For that which befalleth the sons of men befallth beasts - as the one dieth, so dieth the other / piccolo, English horn, fixed media - 2015
    • They were born with Thee / solo performer [natural horn], fixed media - 2017
    • Ajax / piccolo solo, fixed media - 2017


    • I / cello solo, electronics - 2018
    • II / violin, viola, two cellos -2018

    Versuche + Állatvanbent - Under the Head

    • Erster Versuch über Homo Sacer / Bb clarinet, violin, viola, cello - 2008
    • Állatvanbent - Under the Head / Bb clarinet, violin, viola, cello, electronics - 2016
    • Zweiter Versuch über Homo Sacer / alto flute, bass clarinet, one percussionist - 2011
    • Ad Marginem des Versuchs / bass clarinet solo, fixed media - 2015

    For Brass

    • Szene nach Aktion / alto, two piccolo trumpets, fixed media - 2014
    • Hlimman - Beneath the Earth / two trombones, electronics - 2017

    Preludes + Theater

    • Gaddis' Grin / two performers [violin], fixed media - 2014
    • Graben des Meridians / English horn, bass clarinet, timpani, cello, double-bass - 2013
    • Mit Wechselndem Schlüssel / Bb clarinet, two acoustic guitars, two percussionists - 2010
    • Praha / flute, violin, cello - 2007